Skip to content

The Seven Sorrows of Mary & The Promises to Those Who Meditate Upon Them Daily

Are you familiar with the devotion of Our Lady of Sorrows?

If not, this is a wonderful Catholic devotion to meditate upon daily.

The Church dedicates the entire month of September to Our Lady of Sorrows and celebrates her feast on Sept. 15, immediately following the feast of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross.

Mary presented several promises to St. Bridget of Sweden to those who devote themselves to the seven sorrows of her Immaculate Heart.

But first, let’s look at her heart’s sorrows.

Mary’s seven sorrows, as presented in Scripture:

1. The Prophecy of Simeon (Luke 2: 34-35)

2. The Flight into Egypt (Matthew 2: 13-21)

3. The Loss of Jesus for Three Days (Luke 2: 41-50)

4. The Carrying of the Cross (John 19: 17)

5. The Crucifixion of Jesus (John 19: 18-30)

6. Jesus Taken Down from the Cross (John 19: 39-40)

7. Jesus Laid in the Tomb (John 19: 39-42)

Jesus treasures the soul who meditates on Our Lady’s Seven Sorrows.

In his book, “The Glories of Mary,” Saint Alphonsus Liguori said Jesus revealed to Blessed Veronica Binasco “that he takes more pleasure, as it were, in seeing his mother compassionated than himself; for thus he addressed her:

“My daughter, the tears shed for My Passion are dear to Me; but loving with so great love My Mother Mary, the meditation of the dolors which she suffered at My death is more dear to Me.”

Saint Alphonsus said the “graces are very great which Jesus promises to those who are devoted to the dolors [sorrows] of Mary.”

Here are Jesus’ four promises to those who devote themselves to Our Lady’s seven sorrows:

1. “That those who invoke the divine mother by her sorrows, before death will merit to obtain true repentance of all their sins.”

2. “That he will protect such in their tribulations, especially at the hour of death.”

3. “That he will impress upon them the memory of his passion, and that they shall have their reward for it in heaven.”

4. “That he will commit such devout servants to the hands of Mary, that she may dispose of them according to her pleasure, and obtain for them all the graces she desires.”

The Virgin Mary also presented her own promises to Saint Bridget of Sweden for those who devote themselves to her sorrowful heart. Mary asks that the devotee pray one “Hail Mary” in honor of each sorrow.

Mary’s Seven Promises:

1. “I will grant peace to their families.”

2. “They will be enlightened about the Divine Mysteries.”

3. “I will console them in their pains and I will accompany them in their work.”

4. “I will give them as much as they ask for as long as it does not oppose the adorable will of My divine Son or the sanctification
of their souls.”

5. “I will defend them in their spiritual battles with the infernal enemy and I will protect them at every instant of their lives.”

6. “I will visibly help them at the moment of their death — they will see the face of their Mother.”

7. “I have obtained this grace from My divine Son, that those who propagate this devotion to My tears and sorrows will be taken directly from this earthly life to eternal happiness, since all their sins will be forgiven and My Son will be their eternal consolation and joy.”

Saint Alphonsus Liguori’s book also includes meditations on each of Mary’s seven sorrows.

Download the book for free here. The meditations begin on page 537.

Our Lady of Sorrows, pray for us!

Looking for the latest insights

on church and culture?

Get articles and updates from our WEEKLY NEWS newsletter.



Flere nyheter om dette emnet

Mer nyheter

Bidrag etter emne